Portugal and me- Denis

I am Denis, 27 years old from Kyustendil, Bulgaria. I work as a Web Developer and really like travelling and doing sports, all kind of sports.
because despite the difficult situation we are in, I managed to overcome myself and follow one of my dreams, namely a volunteer project in a different country.

Part of my project was working with children with disabilities. I remember it was very hard in the beginning. There was a language barrier between us and the children, and the teacher in charge of them was temporarily absent. So the kids didn't like us, I won't forget the feeling around Christmas when that changed and the kids started looking for more and more contact with me.

Over the past six months, I have faced many challenges that have taken me out of my comfort zone. I was able to spend more time with myself, which in turn helped me realize many things, some of them good, some not so much. I also managed to overcome some of my fears and break myself. Last but not least, I managed to find new friends, some of whom I hope to stay with for a lifetime.

This is something that everyone should do at least once in their life. At first, glance, going to another country to volunteer seems like a hard decision, but the harder you get into such a project, the more you earn. Every day is different and full of emotions, all kinds of emotions. Perhaps the best part of the project is that you have the opportunity to make the change you carry within you and see it.
During the project, I managed to improve my communication skills, especially communication with children. Along with them, I learned to express myself and think more simply and boldly.
I can create a way, there where is no way.